A collaboration between Westlake Symphony Orchestra and SOUNZ Centre for New Zealand Music

The Westlake Symphony Orchestra is an accomplished school orchestra conducted by David Squire. The aim of this project is to encourage New Zealand composers at all career stages to have high quality works available for non-professional orchestras. By making these works available through SOUNZ Online orchestras will be able to watch and listen to repertoire they can programme and perform. The selected works will be recorded and filmed in October 2020 by SOUNZ.

Call for scores

SOUNZ is calling for scores from New Zealand composers suitable for a secondary school orchestra, made up of the following forces:

  • 2-3 flutes (1 doubling piccolo)
  • 2 oboes
  • 2-3 clarinets (1 doubling bass clarinet)
  • 2 bassoons
  • 4 horns
  • 3-4 trumpets
  • 3 trombones (1 bass)
  • 1tuba
  • strings
  • 6 percussionists

The duration of the work should be 2-8 minutes. There is also the option of submitting a concerto work featuring a trumpet, clarinet or piano soloist.

The deadline for submission is 5pm Monday 24 February 2020, and the parts for the selected works will be due at 5pm Monday 2 March 2020.

For further notes, comments and application requirements, download the submission form.

Read about past Westlake Symphony Orchestra Recordings.

SOUNZ blog is designed for expressive discussion and debate amongst the arts and broader community. This is intended to be a safe space so please remember to keep comments respectful and avoid personal attacks, criticisms of specific organisations and defamatory language. Comments are moderated to ensure that they comply with SOUNZ’s Community guidelines.