Cello repertoire showcase

A selection of works by New Zealand composers featuring the cello, with video and audio where available. Click on the work title for details, including score and audio samples, programme notes and more.

Please click on the plus icon (+) to expand the list

Solo cello

Eve de Castro-Robinson: Commemoration (5 min)
Lyell Cresswell: Atta (20 min)

View full details here

First movement:

David Farquhar: Suite (15 min)
Leonie Holmes: The Fourth Station (4 min)
Gillian Whitehead: The Journey of Matuku Moana (18 min)
Kenneth Young: Suite (25 min)

Browse all works for solo cello HERE

Cello with piano

Gareth Farr: Shadow of the Hawk (11 min)
Michael Norris: Phospheni (6 min)
Anthony Ritchie: The Blue Sonata (23 min)
Gao Ping: Sonata No. 2 for cello and piano "Departures" (23 min)

 Browse all works for cello and piano HERE

Cello Ensemble

Brigid Ursula Bisley: Prelude, Intermezzo and Dirge, for eight cellos (18 min)
Simon Eastwood: Ripple, for eight cellos (7 min)
Anthony Ritchie: Theme and Variations, for six cellos (5 min)

Cello concertos

Eve de Castro-Robinson: Releasing the Angel (10 min)
Gareth Farr: Concerto for Cello and Orchestra 'Chemin des Dames' (25 min)
Lyell Cresswell: Cello Concerto (30 min)
Ross Harris: Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra (25 min)


For a complete lists of lists please visit the SOUNZ Website