Karlheinz concert at CANZ

Karlheinz Company recently performed works by various NZ composers, demonstrating the diverse nature of compositional practice in New Zealand at the present time.

The concert was part of the 2014 Composers Association of New Zealand (CANZ) Conference, Composing Now, and composers were invited to submit works, which were selected for performance by a panel including Karlheinz Company Director John Elmsly.

The following seven works were performed by the Karlheinz Company:

Chris Cree BrownNo Ordinary Sun (2012) for eight-channel fixed media.

Jason PostCataphora (2012) for chamber ensemble and live electronics.

Samuel HollowayHard Science (2013) for mixed chamber sextet.

Chris Watsonorbicularis (2008) for flute and piano.

Helen BowaterRangitoto (2010) for solo piano.

Celeste OramMirror & Echo (2014) for violin, viola and percussion.


M Louise WebsterGrief of a Girl’s Heart (2013) for mixed chamber ensemble and soprano.