Jack Body’s ‘Melodies for orchestra’ and Eve de Castro-Robinson’s ‘Triple Clarinet Concerto’ are kaleidoscopic classics of New Zealand orchestral music. Body weaves together transcriptions of Greek, Sumatran and Indian music while de Castro-Robinson unleashes a five-octave super-clarinet to spectacular effect. Young composer Louisa Nicklin’s ‘one’ provides the calm and reflective centre.

Jack Body: Melodies for Orchestra 
Christchurch Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Hamish McKeich, with Sarah McCracken and Iryna Ionenko (obbligato violins).

Louisa Nicklin: one.
New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Marc Taddei.

Eve de Castro-Robinson: Triple Clarinet Concerto 
Christchurch Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Benjamin Northey, with Ellen Deverall (E flat clarinet), Richard Haynes (B flat clarinet) and Andrew Uren (bass clarinet).


Approximate running time: 50 minutes